Sleepwalking

sleepwalking1.jpg

There I was feeling quite decent and calm in the midst of the hurricane that is my life.  I went to bed in the unfortunate middle position but fell asleep quickly despite being groped from one side and snuggled from the other, (husband and baby respectively).  It was still a bit dark out when I awoke to the sounds of running water.  Of course, I assumed it was my husband having just used the restroom or possibly one of the children.  Slowly, it dawned on me that it was coming from the wrong direction to be either of those and that I  could see the outline of my husband in the distance.  I sat up in bed and realized I was not in my bed at all.  Last evening, I set up the pull out bed for my middle child so that he could relax and watch “Ratatouille”.  I had not put it away and now found myself in it with no recollection of what had transpired.  I have never had any incidents of sleepwalking in my past, but I knew that is what had happened.  Somehow I managed to retreat from the suffocation of my own bed and find a good place to sleep alone.  I had even covered myself with the blanket!  Now I know to the average sleepwalker, this is all  nothing remarkable, but to someone who has never had this type of experience, it was very intriguing.  Sadly, the leading causes for this type of behavior are lack of sleep and stress.  You can stop laughing now.  Just note that if something happens one night, I was asleep and meant no harm.  Really.   

Leave a Reply

